Dean Pappas Receives Highest Honor from UCEA

Dean Pappas Receives Highest Honor from UCEA

James P. Pappas, vice president for University of Oklahoma Outreach and dean of the College of Liberal Studies, is being recognized nationally as the 2006 recipient of the prestigious Julius M. Nolte Award for Extraordinary Leadership presented by the University Continuing Education Association (UCEA) to honor unusual and extraordinary contributions to continuing education on the regional, national and/or international level.

During his 40-year career, Pappas has been a distinguished administrator, researcher and teacher in continuing and higher education. As a result of his leadership, grant expenditures for the OU College of Continuing Education have increased from $14.7 million in 1994 to $58.3 million in 2004. His guidance has led to the $60 million renewal of the U.S. Postal Training Contract, Federal Aviation Administration air traffic control training contract, Tinker Air Force Base LEAN Institute and Invest Ed investor education project with the Oklahoma Department of Securities.

“This award recognizes what we have long known at the University of Oklahoma about the stature of Jim Pappas as one of the most outstanding educators in the field of continuing education in the nation,” said OU President David L. Boren. “Jim Pappas has made a lasting contribution to our university and to the people of Oklahoma,” Boren said.

In his letter of nomination, Thurman J. White, vice president emeritus of Outreach, said, “Jim Pappas is one of the most successful, productive and visionary administrators I have had the honor of working with during my extensive career in continuing education. He is knowledgeable, insightful, resourceful and dynamic, and has used these qualities to advance the cause of continuing education both nationally and internationally throughout his long career.”

The award honors the memory of Julius M. Nolte, a pioneer in the field of continuing higher education. It was presented at the UCEA annual conference in April. Previous recipients of the prestigious award include Michael Shinagel of Harvard University, Alexander N. Charters from Syracuse University and Robert Senecal of the University of Kansas.

Update: The College of Liberal Studies was renamed the College of Professional and Continuing Studies in 2017. 

OU logo


The College of Professional and Continuing Studies is a fully accredited academic unit of the University of Oklahoma, offering 100% online, hybrid and onsite degrees for working adults and non-traditional students.