International Group Founder Named 2006 Brock Laureate

Douglas Reeves, Ph.D., chairman and founder of the Colorado-based Center for Performance Assessment, has been chosen as the 2006 recipient of the Brock International Prize in Education. The selection of Reeves was announced Sept. 16 during a dinner at Sam Noble Museum of Natural History on the University of Oklahoma campus.

Roger Blais, Ph.D., provost and vice president for Academic Affairs at the University of Tulsa, made the announcement.

“This group of jurors is the best group we’ve had and each in their own right is deserving of the prize,” he said as he introduced Debbie Arato, Reeves’ nominating juror.

“This is someone who loves learning,” Arato said of her nominee. “This award is designed to celebrate learning and it is wonderful to recognize this person and his remarkable body of work.”

The Center for Performance Assessment, located in Englewood, Colo., is an international organization dedicated to improving student achievement and educational equity. Through its long-term relationships with school systems, the center helps educators and school leaders improve student achievement through practical and constructive approaches to standards, assessments and accountability.

Watching the New Stars on Our Horizon

Reeves is a frequent keynote speaker in the United States and abroad for education, government and business organizations and is a faculty member of leadership programs sponsored by the Harvard Graduate School of Education. He is the author of 19 books and many articles, including the best-selling, “Making Standards Work,” now in its third edition. Twice he has been selected for the Harvard Distinguished Author’s Series and he recently won the Parent’s Choice Award for his writing for children and parents. Reeves’ works have been translated into Chinese, Japanese, Hebrew and Spanish.

“At a time when school leadership is central to the success of students, Reeves offers a comprehensive means to measure the critical elements of effective school leadership.”

– Vincent Ferrandino, National Association of Elementary School Principals

Outside of his work in large-scale assessment and research, Reeves has devoted many years to classroom teaching with students ranging from elementary school to doctoral candidates. He has four children and is married to Shelley Sackett, an attorney, mediator and school board member.

Arato is superintendent of Moore public schools, a district between Oklahoma City and Norman.

The Brock International Prize in Education is the largest prize in the world given annually to recognize an individual who has created significant ideas for change and innovation in education. Reeves is the fifth recipient since its inception in 2002. A panel of nine jurors nominates one individual, and then convenes in Norman to discuss the merits of each nominee and select the laureate for the following year.

The 2006 jury included: Robert James Burkhardt Jr., head of Eagle Rock School and Professional Development Center, Estes Park, Colo.; William F. Goodling, former U.S. representative and chairman of the Goodling Institute for Research in Family Literacy, Pennsylvania State University; Anthony B. Harduar, principal, Central Elementary School, Ferndale, Wash.; Shaun R. Harper, assistant professor and research associate in the center for the Study of Higher Education, Pennsylvania State University; Genaro M. Padilla, vice chancellor for student affairs and associate professor of English, University of California, Berkeley; W. Charles Read, dean emeritus, School of Education, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Melinda K, Reeves, principal, Decatur High School, Decatur, Texas; Cynthia A. Rudrud, retired principal; Raymond S. Kellis High School, Glendale, Ariz. and Arato.

The prize consists of $40,000, a certificate and a bust of Sequoyah, and is awarded each spring to the recipient during the Brock Symposium on Excellence in Education. This year’s symposium, hosted by Oklahoma State University, OU and the University of Tulsa, will be held in Tulsa Monday, March 27, 2006.

The prize is administered by an executive committee made up of representatives of these three Oklahoma universities. Trent Gabert, Ph.D., associate dean of the OU College of Liberal Studies, is chair of the executive committee and administrator of the prize.

Update: The College of Liberal Studies was renamed the College of Professional and Continuing Studies in 2017. 

OU logo


The College of Professional and Continuing Studies is a fully accredited academic unit of the University of Oklahoma, offering 100% online, hybrid and onsite degrees for working adults and non-traditional students.