Annual Faculty Meeting and Awards

The annual College of Liberal Studies faculty meeting and awards took place in April as CLS faculty members from around the country watched via podcast. CLS Dean James Pappas spoke about the trends and upcoming challenges in higher education and in distance learning particularly.

In addition to Dr. Pappas’s remarks, three outstanding faculty members were recognized for their commitment and contributions to the academic process in their area of expertise. Scott Childers received the Kenneth E. Cook Award, Dr. Rhonda Kyncl was presented the Rufus G. Hall Award, and Nathan Brown received the Superior Teaching Award.

Update: The College of Liberal Studies was renamed the College of Professional and Continuing Studies in 2017. 

OU logo


The College of Professional and Continuing Studies is a fully accredited academic unit of the University of Oklahoma, offering 100% online, hybrid and onsite degrees for working adults and non-traditional students.